Delta printer - Unique situation - Help please!

Hi Team,

Okay, here is the situation that I have, hopefully someone can provide me with some assistance cause I've been fighting this for a couple of weeks now and I'm at wits end.  Let me give you the background information.

A couple of months ago I picked up a used delta printer, a Micromake D1, off of the local Craigslist.  The guy who had bought it had assembled it (he did a really great job with that) and had continuous trouble with the extruder and he finally gave up on it and sold it cheap, to me.  I've been working with 3d printers for about 18 months, I have a Wanhao I3 that works great.  So I'm not a total newbie to the game, but I am new to delta's.

After working for weeks, I concluded that the previous owner was right, there is something wrong with the whole extruder system on this printer, and judging from comments online, this seems to be a problem that plagues these D1 models.  But that is okay, because knowing that the extruder system was potentially flawed, I already had other plans for the printer, and that was to turn it into a laser engraver.

I already have the laser unit, it is a J Tech model that I've been using on my I3 for about 8 months now, works great.  But there are times when I need to print 3d, but it is set up for laser, or vice versa.  So I figured if I could convert the D1 over to using my laser module on there, it would be great for me.

I printed a laser holder for delta printers, already got everything assembled, and the laser works well on the D1, so I'm not having any laser problems.

Here is where I need some help.  What I want to be able to do is to laser engrave onto various thickness of materials.  General small signs are like 3mm thick, but small jewelry boxes are like 70-100mm thick, so the height needs to be variable, but I would like to have this automated.