New to 3d printing / Repetier host

Hi,  
question - I just finished putting together a oneup from q3d - say what you will it taught me alot - however, trying to correct some 'banding' on the sides of my prints I replaced the z axis threaded rod with a 8MM lead screw - now the printer moves like 30mm for every 10mm I say in the manual control of repetier.  As I am new to printing - I am still trying to work the bugs out (and if anyone knows is q3d out of bidnezz or? cause they don't respond at all) I posted here because I don't even know where to start looking let alone searching. (and I am pretty sure this won't be my last question either <span>:smiley:</span> )

Comments

• you need to change the Z axis steps/mm to suit the pitch of the lead screws.
    Most of the lead screws you buy are whats called '4 start leadscrew' so at 1/16th microstepping you will need 
    steps/mm = 400. you can set this directly into the eeprom using repetier host eeprom editor.

• thank you - hopefully this will work I will try it in a few hours!!!!! <span>:wink:</span>
  • okay - so I tried this - first set it to 400 and it seemed to have no effect at all - then tried 800 and eventually 1600 with no apparent change -- here's the sticky bit - when I disconnect and reconnect it reverts to 88.6 or whatever it was.  should I be doing something other than 'save to EEPROM'?  - I do have the .INO file and arduino IDE loaded - should I be changing it somewhere in there?
  • Alrighty I am a fool  - it would help if I put the 400 in the right place - seems to be working now - now if it will just start printing and not  saying heating extruder
  • my next question is why does that setting not stay - I was messing with setting my home and it reverted back to the original setting  - then I set it again - started the print and now it seems to be working - do I need to set this every time I print something?