Tronxy X1 suddenly X axis misbehaving

I am new to 3D printing and am trying to figure out the first weird bug I've hit. After printing okay for a while, I had one mysterious problem, and while trying to figure it out, I missed that the bed was getting out of adjustment, and had one print with the extruder dragging on the print bed when it got past the middle of X axis, and didn't notice until it had gone on for a while. When I came back to it to try again, I started having weird X axis problems. It would start up when told to print by running the X axis all the way to the far end (160mm plus) at high speed and trying to keep going until unplugged.

After retrying and having the same thing happen, I told it to print the original sample file that came with the printer, to eliminate variables. This time, it did its homing routine, then ran X out to the end, but at normal, slow speed. That only happened once. Since then it has gone back to doing that at full speed.

Home All and Home X work fine, but starting from Home, sometimes the X position reads as a gigantic number the instant it leaves the limit switch. And sometimes, if you use the X position fast control, it zooms all the way to max X, and tries to keep going, again until it is unplugged.