Micro- switch initiated pause control for end filament or filament break.

G'day everyone,
I have been experimenting with the pause function  in the latest firmware, and would like to add a micro-switch that detects the end or a beak in the filament.
I am not good at programming and would like to know if anyone else has tried to implement this type of control and if so how.

Thanks in advance,
Yowie.

Comments

• Hi All,

exactly what I am looking for as well.

I want to make sure, the filament is running ( not broken AND not twisted nor knotted in the coil )

I try to achieve this by using a tacho signal converted to a constant level (e.g. High when turning).

But i dont know, how to handle the signal then .

Is it possible to pause a running job and cool down extruder and after a while bed by this external signal ?
    Is there a better way then using AutoHotKey?

Thanks in advance for any comment

Ralph Rathmann

(Repetier Host V. 1.0.6 with Vellemann K8200)

• You know that the hardware for this is readily available and works very well.  How this would interface to Repetier, I have no idea.  
  • Yes, that does it but also measures filament jam. A single switch can only detect out of filament but should be configured to also trigger the detector. I still have to look at this, but I think a simple switch as method is currently not implemented but should to allow what you need. Will add that as soon as I find the time. It is on my todo at least:-)
  • I can't read German but I'm interested in this.  Is there an English web site selling this hardware?
  • Not that I know. He invented it for his sparkcube printers. But he published the sources I think, so with google translate you could still make your own.
  • So is there some implementation of MicroSwitch pause?
    I also already made a filament extruder system and incorporated the microswitch in it, so it would be great...