bsod from ch340 drivers when using rep host/server

Has anyone else ever had windows BSOD crashes from the ch340 (64bit) drivers on Windows 10? I realize this doesn't necessarily point at repetier, but I've been doing a lot of Arduino work for a few months that of course use the drivers and didn't have a single crash of this nature until I started using Repetier.

Using Repeteir 0.86.2 pro trial at the moment. It's quite random, often times coming at 15 to 30 mins into a print, although I just got a few crashes just playing around with the manual controls in rep host. I'm mostly just looking for what I should be looking at - obviously the driver is final and I can't find anybody with similar problems, but it's literally the only way to reliably bsod my machine which I use for gaming and music production with no other hint of instability. Any tips on how to troubleshoot this by getting verbose logging from repetier server or other suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments

• oops, forgot to add it's an "IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL" bsod
  • Server is just using the default POSIX solution for serial communication, everything else is in driver. So I also do not think it is the server it self, more the fact that it uses the driver.

Did you use a different host before? Or just arduino ide for uploading, which is of course only a short term use. WOuld expect here same problem with other hosts as they also use the driver, at least if it is the driver causing the BSOD, but normal software normally can not cause this so that is a good bet. Does the screem provide any information about the BSOD library/drive causing it?

You might try a different driver version instead.
  • edited January 2018