Problem about M3 command

edited December 2017 in Repetier-Firmware

Hi, everyone. I am new to Repetier and 3D printing.
In recent days, I am building my 3D printer by using Arduino Mega2560 + Ramps 1.4 + laser source. All the setting and steps are easy except the problem of LASER PIN SIGNAL. Based on the configuration tool of Repetier Host, I set the LASER PIN as D9. After uploading the firmware and working for a while, I found that the laser was not working. Then I tried to use multimeter and oscilloscope to check the signal on D9, there had no signal. Also, M3 Command was used in Repetier Host, however, the result was the same.

================================================================================

/*Other tools may use M3 and M5 to enable/disable laser. Here G1/G2/G3 moves have laser enabled
and G0 moves have it disables.

In any case, laser only enables while moving. At the end of a move it gets
automatically disabled.
*/

#define SUPPORT_LASER 1
#define LASER_PIN ORIG_FAN_PIN
#define LASER_ON_HIGH 0 

=================================================================================
Could anyone give some help? Thanks

Comments

• RAMPS has D9 for many functions like fan or second heater as well, so you probably have selected to have a fan so that will overwrite it.

Are you sure your laser needs 12V from D9? My laser has power input plus a signal input (5V TTL) to tell if it should be enabled. Be careful with laser and use your special glasses and be close to reset/power at first tries.
  • Repetier said:
    RAMPS has D9 for many functions like fan or second heater as well, so you probably have selected to have a fan so that will overwrite it.

Are you sure your laser needs 12V from D9? My laser has power input plus a signal input (5V TTL) to tell if it should be enabled. Be careful with laser and use your special glasses and be close to reset/power at first tries.
    Thanks for your reply.
    Yes, that`s true, D9 has many functions.