Modifiying shutdown button to add extra features

I have my server running a custom command that shuts down the printer and then using a webaction shuts off the power to the printer and the server though a smart plug. I have a small delay in the ifttt program to allow the server to properly shutdown before removing power.

I have this gcode in a quick command

@pushmessage Hard Shutdown of MK2.5S Initiated
M104 S0 T0
M140 S0
M109 R38
@syncMotion
@webAction Hard_Shutdown
@syncMotion
@pushmessage Hard Shutdown of Mk2.5s Completed
G4 S1
@syncMotion
@execute shutdown

would there be an easy way to modify the action of the current shutdown button in the extcommands.xml to achieve the same result?
in my mind the easiest would be to be able to call my custom quick command from within the shutdown script.

so change the current execute to something else
<execute>sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now</execute>

I am not a programmer so any help on this would be much appreciated.

Comments

• There is a small difference. Your code only works with an activated printer. If printer is already disabled M/G Codes are ignored which would be ok in that case I guess. So assuming you leave printer always activated in server you can instead call a script and send the @quickcommand "name" to execute your script. See
    https://prgdoc.repetier-server.com/v1/docs/index.html#/en/web-api/unixsockets
    on how to do this when you activate unix sockets. There is a sample script (put it in /var/lib/Repetier-Server/scripts) and adjust the included gcode command and printer slug name (see url in browser when inside a printer tab) it is the one looking like printer name.
  • Thank you for pushing me in the right direction, I have enabled unix sockets and written the script. the script is working when I a run it as user pi, but I don't have the right permission to run it as user repetierserver.