"Pause and Resume" Printer with Light Sensor Data

Hello! 

I am pretty new to messing around with 3d printers, but that's what I need to do... So please help me out here!

I am working on a project where I control a 3d printer with Repetier connected through a USB and what I need to do is sending commands to pause and resume a printer based on sensor data I get real-time from a light-meter.

For example, I use a light sensor that reads Lux value real-time and if the number goes below 10,000, pause the printer and resume the printer when it goes back up 10,000. 

I currently read the sensor from the light-meter and pause/resume the printer manually through Repetier. 
I would like to automate this part by calling a command based on input data from the light-meter. 
I am logging/reading Lux on my computer and the printer is connected to the same computer through Repetier.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions to implement the system through Repetier (Or any other methods).

Any advice would be appreciated. 

Thanks! 

Comments

• You can use the web API as described here:
    https://www.repetier-server.com/manuals/programming/API/index.html

To make a pause use the send command with "@pause some message" as gcode. To continue use the "continueJob" command.
  • Thanks for your reply!

I have been using Host and now switching to Server to use the web API.

So when I use the serial connection, I had no problem.
    But I am having an unstable connection with TCP/IP connection. Constantly connected and disconnected. 

Getting this in the console. Mesg:17:30:17.692: Connection started (29)

Even when it's connected just for a few seconds, I cannot send a command and operate my printer. 
    I tried different internet connections for different IP addresses. The connection issue was the same. 

Do you have any thoughts on why I am getting this connection problem? 

Thanks.