WebCam: Works on PI itself, not if on HUB

edited April 14 in General
I have a little problem...
I'm currently trying to run the printers and webcams via a USB3 HUB because I'm slowly running out of ports on the PI and I'm also fed up with this mess of cables on the side.
Everything works so far, except for the webcam.
The camera works directly on the PI, whether USB or USB3 (after replugging it, of course with a new assignment; it's just not Windows ^^). But as soon as I connect it to the HUB, it's over.
I've now tried three different USB3 hubs... Always the same.

It's probably a Linux-specific problem... Is there any way to solve this?

Greetz
Micha

Comments

• I have no experience with usb3 hubs and pi/linux, but as a test you can login over ssh and run
    lsusb
    or
    lsusb -t

to see all usb devices detected by linux. Then check if you can see the webcam as device and also if you can see the usb3 hub. Best start without both so you know what was added to list is your test device.

Since the webcam works without hub I guess it is the hub. Try a usb 2 hub instead which so far worked for me without problems.
  • edited April 15
    Yep, ty for the hint.
    None of the three HUBs want to work with the WebCAM. All HUBs are recognized by the system, such as a USB stick connected to the HUB for testing purposes, but the camera is not; at no one! That's weird!
    I'll try again later, connect the HUBs to the USB2 and see what changes (or not).
    Unfortunately, I just have to straighten the PI's SSD first. I got the wrong plug and pulled out the SSD while running instead of the HUB... Can't boot anymore... :#

• CBX_Micha said:
    Unfortunately, I just have to straighten the PI's SSD first. I got the wrong plug and pulled out the SSD while running instead of the HUB... Can't boot anymore... :#
    Fu** Seems that I have to completely reinstall Repetier server. File system is fixed (via another Linux-system) but I got init.rst panic messages.