Repetier Server 0.80 will not start on boot RPi3

I'm sorry for the basic question, but I am new to linux and I don't know where to look for some simple things.

I put the Raspberry Pi Repetier-Server 0.80 image on an SD card and booted it in my RPi3. Everything seemed to go well. I was able to connect Repetier-Host to the server (had to work through the "too many items in the combo box" error, but eventually got through) and upload a config for my printer. The last thing I did was install ffmpeg with these instructions (I had previously followed these for 0.75) 
And then I edited extcommands.xml to add some Printer On and Printer Off commands.Then I rebooted the RPi to see if the new commands would show up, and Repetier Server does not start. When I try manually starting it with:
/etc/init.d/RepetierServer start

I get the error:
-bash: /etc/init.d/RepetierServer: No such file or directory

All I know is to reboot and hope the server starts, but it doesn't. I could start from scratch from a new image, but the server was working before, so I'd like to figure out how to fix it. Also, I activated one of my 5 pro installs on it, and I am not able to unactivate it.
I appreciate any help. Thanks.

Comments

• Our image uses the newer Jessie linux having systemd. So restarting server is done like this now:

sudo service RepetierServer restart

From your description I guess your extcommands.xml is no valid xml file any more that might crash the server on startup. Open it in chrome/firefox and it will show you the error position. You might also check /var/lib/Repetier-Server/logs/server.log to see where the server crashes.

Don't bother about license. It is hardware bound so activating on same machine does not count and we can always fix things if it is caused by problems.
  • Ok, thanks for the correct command. I was following the instructions in the manual here, it has the command that I tried previously: