G1 Z 0.400 F7800.000

Hi, and thanks in advance for you suggestions.
On or about line 22 on the G-Code for any print, I get this entry after slicing. Obviously this value is too high for the filament to adhere to the print bed. it does not matter what size nozzle I use. I can see an air gap between the nozzle and the bed. So changing the g-code to
"G1 Z 0.040 F7800.000" this places a nice brim and skirt on my printing object. Where in the world and what numbers do I use to get it to the value I choose, as opposed to manually changing every g-code? How do I make the default change to this number? I bet it is as simple as someone identifying where the value is changed and explaining the math involved.

Sincerely,

Israel

Comments

• Original value is first layer height. Reducing it will also reduce filament amount so that is not the right solution. Your main problem is that z=0 is simply too high. Make it trigger deeper and it will work as expected.
  • Great info! But I am a NOOB. How do I "make it trigger deeper"? and Z=0 being to high? please explain.

I do have a good level on the bed to the nozzle, using a single sheet of paper, on all four corners. I do verify this before I print.

The procedure I use is that I home all Axis's then move the x-axis position so that the extruder is over the bed on the nearest corner, check the gap with paper, move to next corner and repeat this for all corners. I am a novice at this 3d printing world.

Am I doing this correctly??

The only thing I can think of moving around to lower the z-position, is to change the z end stop so the extruder is .04 below the bed. So when I send a print, it will be at z=0, but would that be too close?  Maybe lower it 0.36 to put me at 0.040 above the bed as it starts to print...

I don't know...
    Please advise.

Israel