Self build firmware/ config help!

Hello all,

I wanted to start 3d printing so designed and built my printer a few months back using mostly laser cut and folded parts and components off eBay.
I am a mechanical design engineer, so the mechanical side if the build was ok, however, I am new to 3d printers and am have been struggling a great amount with the firmware and configurations.
I cannot seem to get the limit switches to work, nor do i know how to set the home position.
I have uploaded repetier firmware, and can make the motors move through the host, however only in one direction and they also ignore the optical end switches and crash through them.
I managed to get the heat bed and extruder to head up yesterday, however i turned them on this morning and almost burned down my desk when the wire supplying power got too hot! I replaced the wire and the bed no longer heats up! (No voltage to the green terminals)
I just found the firmware instalation document on this site, and reading through, is the EEPROM used after the initial firmware upload to change settings? (and update the firmware).
Even after reading about it, I am not sure I understand.
Up to this point i have been uploading the firmware in auduino, uploading to the board, then using the manual control in repetier host to see if the changes are benifitial.
The changes seem to be fighting the host front end
Any help or recommended reading/ walkthroughs would be much appreciated.
I will upload some photos when I work out how to!

Comments