CNC mill and 3d printer hybrid

Hello, my name is Mariano and im from Argentina. I am completely new at this world. But im enthusiastic and an electronic engineer.

I am starting a new solo project on renewable energies, and would need a CNC PCBs mill/drill and a 3d printer to make custom pieces.

Its out of my budget assemble one of each (ideal situation) so im trying to make a strong complete 3d printer capable of mill/drill PCBs by changing extruder for a dremel/spindle.

Electronics will be Ramps 1.4 kit, capable of handling both machines separately, with Z axis automatic leveling for PCB mill. But i read on some forums that firmware needs to be replaced when changing its functionality. Is it true and there is no alternative?

I thought of using Repetier as firmware and frontend also to get best of it. Is it possible?

Thanks

Comments

• Repetier-Firmware has 3 modes: 3d Printing, Laser Cutting/engraving and CNC. You can compile all 3 in one binary. You switch with M451 / M452 / M453 to the corresponding modes. If you unplug extruder it will show a temperature error going to dry run, but that does not have any effect on Laser/CNC, only when you go back you need to reset the printer so temperatures work again (maybe disabling dry run in host).

The only thing you need to watch out is the gcode created for pcb mill. It should be compatible with repetier gcode. But that should not be a real problem as you only need a few commands and G1/G0 are pretty standard with sticky variables.
  • Thank you for the answer. Sorry to bother again, but as i said im new.

So if i use firmware in Ramps compiled for 3d printing and CNC milling that would be enough for hw. I should only unplug extruder, or extruder and heated bed also?

Thanks