Spindle control for cnc milling using Repetier

I'm not new to using Repetier-Host for printing, but I'm very new to using it as a cnc mill.
I am using a router which has a controller compatible with Mach3 PWM.  The PWM has two electrical connections, GND and PMW. 

I have no idea where to start to make this compatible with Repetier.  Can Repetier send a PWM signal to the router controller and not step/dir, and if so, how would I do this?

Comments

• Hi,

latest repetier-firmware allows it to write events to control. The basic cnc code implemented has only enable and direction signal. So you need to extend it using the event system and create the pwm signals on your own, so I hope you have some programming skills or someone else does this. PWMs are quite troulesome as every board has different pins with different pwm timers and firmware uses internally also timers 0-2(3 for sound). So not all pins can be used for hardware pwm.
  • Thank you for your reply.  I am using a RUMBA and possibly the pwm for the 3rd extruder heater can be used but it sounds like trying to integrate this with Repetier is way more trouble than it's worth at the moment.  possibly in the future.
  • Most will use it with a cheaper mill, that can only handle on/off and that works and is enough. This was never meant to replace real cnc mills, which can do way more complex things then you do with a printer.
  • Thank you again for your help!

I very much appreciate it.  This has been very helpful.

I have a follow-up question I posted as a new discussion, "Clarification needed on "High Pin Enables" when setting up Laser/CNC in Repetier firmware".  Which I could use some help on.