Anet A8 Firmware issue

hi i am Jamie i am new to 3d printers and bought a CTC A8 cheap
with repetier host if i print front right it is preinting just past middle right on the bed
it has Repetier_ firmware but is seeing the machine as a Mendel

anyway the machine was not working i got it working by replacing the hot end and thought it could be a firmware issue so after asking elsewhere was told to put marlin on it but it looks like i dont have a bootloader on the board as i can compile it but not upload it
anyway as it has Repetier firmware is there a way i can either sort it out so the program sees the machine with the correct bed size or update the firmware to sort it ??

side note the whole z extruder was on the wrong side of the gantry i olny noticed today i have now put it on the right side so that it can now physically reach the whole bed but now my dam Y axis seems to be reversed any way of fixint this>?

Comments

• You need to modify firmware and reupload, sorry. Sounds like it was wrong configured anyway and hardware changes normally need firmware adjustments e.g. replacing sensor type by the new one, end stop direction motor direction, ... But what board are you using that you have no bootloader?
    Note thaty ou can only upload if no software is connected to the board or uploader will fail. I think it is mega 2560 board so normal avrdude should do the upload trick if com port is correct and not used by other software.
  • Board is v1.5 and has a ATMEGA 1284P chip I have previously tries to put marlin (compiled and verified) but get a sync error every time I would put repiter back on it with the right machine but I don't know all the parts for the config side of things and even if I did would it even go onto the board if it has no bootloader ?
  • v1.5 of which brand and model? Melzi is the only I know directly to use that chip.