Trying to get 2 fans to go at different speeds.

Hello!
    First let me say that I love this Software. It has helped me so much.
    I have a CR 10. I installed a Micro Swiss to it and the Grill fan is cooling too much at 100%. I took the grill fan off the always on connection and put it on the second fan control pins so that I can lesson the speed so that it can reach higher temperatures. It's working but I'm having a hard time getting the 2 fans to go at different speeds and a lot of the time just 1 fan will work or both fans just blow at the same speed.
    I'm very new to all of this so an overly simplified explanation would be appreciated. : )

Comments

• With multiple fans it depends on firmware what happens. With our manual fan controls we send in M106 commands P0 for first and P1 for second. Slicer normally do not include Px and that normally defaults to extruder fan P0. But you need to configure firmware such that the always on fan is connected as P1. In server config just increase fan count to 2 and you see at least second fan control.
  • Thanks for the reply. I bought a 24v 70watt heater cartridge. I put the grill fan back on the always on pins and it is working really great. The temperature fluctuates quite dramatically now though. I'm wondering if the Heater is too powerful or maybe run a PID test to fix it? I already ran a 200c PID test. Is the temp wizard included in Rep the same as a PID test?
  • The temp wizard in server is not to control temperature - it is to get timings on how fast a extruder heats/cools down for better time prediction. So running it has no effect except better time prediction.

Did you copy new PID values to eeprom so it gets used? Also what is dramatically fluctuation for you?