Need manual OK after every line of gcode!

edited October 2015 in Windows
Hi, I am totally new to 3d printing so I am sorry if this is a stupid question/issue.
I am running RH ver 1.5.6 on windows 10 and windows xp machines (just to make sure it was not a windows 10 problem). On both machines I need to press a manual OK after every line of gcode.

I am running a makibox with latest firmware.

The printer runs fine apart from this and my first print looked good (some weaving put not bad for a first run) except I pressed OK 3000 times! I can hit ok in batches so they seem to buffer too then stop and I have to hit OK another xx times as a batch and xx lines of gcode print then stops.

I have tried slicing with slic3r but to iliminate another possible error I tried printing the standard test cube gcode provided so no slicing needed. Both do the same.

Any obvious setting I have missed or known issue like this?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Comments

• Sounds like you get lots of communication errors. What does the log show as response? With pingpong disabled it needs some missed "ok" returns until it blocks. In 1.5 you can set a timeout to continue automatically, normally set to 40 seconds but that gives lot of blobs. Without com errors you woundln't have these problems.

Maybe your baudrate is only nearly correct, e.g. 230400 vs, 250000 works some times but with frequent errors.
  • Ahh I see, comms problem maybe. Didn't get any comms error in the log as I remember but I will try again and report back a little later. Gives me a direction to investigate. Thanks.
  • edited October 2015
    Hi, well I get no comms errors, the only error so to speak is the occasional M117 error.
    Off course that's with me pressing OK after each line of code for it to progress otherwise it just sits there after the first move. (That is after heating the bed taking the head to the zero position and getting the extruded to the correct temp)