BTT Smart Filament Sensor on Custom Marlin FW

Apologies if i am posting in the wrong forum for this.

I am currently running 8x Ender 3's on Marlin 2.0.bugfix with runout detection enabled for the BTT Smart Filament Sensor. The runout detection runs perfectly when printing from an SD Card but not when I am running a job from Repetier Server (Pro). I understand that the runout detection only works when marlin is aware of a job running which, i understand is not the case when Repetier is sending the instructions directly to the printer bypassing Marlin. 

My question is this, is it possible to set up some 'listening' code to detect when the filament runout detection is triggered and then respond to that action mimicking the pause-->park nozzle-->retract filament process?

Looking at 'G-Codes' under printer settings, it seems like 'Response to Event' is exactly what I'm looking for, but I am very new to this and any guidance or pointing me to some documentation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time
J

Comments

• The problem is in deed that many firmwares do not send any message when runout is triggered. And without any message the server can not react. Matlin has many options and I can not say how to make it send something in which case. You should check by manually triggering the sensor if you get any message. On messages known we call the filament dialog. But you were correct you can use Response to event to send 

@outOfFilament

and it would show the filament change dialog when the expression is found in printer output.

I know marlin has compile options to send messages to host as well. Just this is often disabled or configured to be handled firmware intern and intern is not when printing externally as you already figured out also we set the marlin print timer on start.
  • Thanks for the response. I've been looking at the compiling software and there's a note that says the following:

* Filament Runout Sensors