HE3D 2 in 1 out extruders not working

Hello,
This is my first post, and I am a total newbie, so please be kind and talk in as simple terms as possible.
I have just put together a HE3D EI3 printer that has 2 extruder motors, but only 1 nozzle.  After opening up and connecting with pronterface, I can move the X, Y and Z.  The extruder head and the bed heat up.  I can turn the cooling fans on and off.  I can not make the extruder motors work at all.  I have done the following....

1-made sure the extruder head was above 170 degrees.
2-Have put the wire from the Z motor onto the extruder motors.  The motors work fine.
3-Have switched the wires from the Z port on the board with the extruder motors.  The motors work fine.  

So I think I have established that the extruder motors and the wiring are fine.  This makes me think that I have a problem with the firmware.  Is this correct?  I had looked at the configuration file.  I'm not sure which settings I should change other than making sure it looks for a MKS Gen L board. 
Can anyone please help me?  I am about ready to pull my hair out and I don't have much left. LOL.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Chip 

Comments

• Send 
    M302 S1
    to allow cold extrusion, so extruder temperature is not relevant.

Do both extruders share same temperature sensor?
    Is it the same stepper driver? Make sure you have the same invert enable settings then as x,y, z or motor gets no power when it should move.

Make sure to use the right pins for stepper driver.

Check eeprom settings - it might have illegal values from old version with 1 extruder so steps per mm or acceleration are not a number/invalid.

These are main points that can cause failure.
  • Repetier said:
    Send 
    M302 S1
    to allow cold extrusion, so extruder temperature is not relevant.

Do both extruders share same temperature sensor?