Can't get my Azteeg X5 mini board to move any of my steppers in Repetier Host

I am a teacher who teaches CNC programming and machining in a trade school in Montreal. I decided to make my own version of the Bukito, with a e3D-V6 extruder in a Bowden configuration and an Azteeg X5 mini for the controller. Mechanically speaking, it is finished. I am trying to get it to work with Repetier Host. I apologize if this post is long – my current problem is to be found in the section ‘Second problem’.

First problem (and the solution) : I had troubles after installing the Windows drivers (I have Windows 7 Home Premium – 64 bit, which is part of the problem).

After installation of the drivers, Windows said that the driver was correctly installed, but, upon plugging in the USB cable, Windows displayed an error message saying the driver was not properly installed. When I went to the Windows Device page it showed a yellow exclamation beside the Smoothie Serial driver and showed the following under Device Status : "This device is not configured correctly (code 1). A service installation section in this INF is invalid". However, when I went into Windows Explorer, I could see the SDcard listed as a drive and can see 3
files listed : Config.text, drive.id and FIRMWARE.CUR – at least this meant my computer was communicating with the X5 as a drive by the USB cable.

So I decided to re-install the Windows drivers, but I noticed when I went to re-download the firmware.bin file, the Github site showed a size of  334.64 kB, however, the size as downloaded was only 327 kB. Then I noticed that there was a md5sum file (I don't think I checked the firmware.bin with the checksum utility before) so I downloaded both the firmware.bin file and the firmware.bin.md5sum files. I then ran the winMd5Sum utility and it reported that there was a mismatch. On the Github of the Smoothie Board site I reported a bug - I don't know if they will get back to me.