Z offset question

I have been printing now for a few months, i had finally gotten the Z offset corrected so the first layer went down as i thought it should. The offset was set to .24.
I installed a new nozzle (much sharper point) that sits lower than the original, so i re-calibrated the zprobe, had to move the sensor down.

Using the same process as before, with a clean nozzle, i put the nozzle on the bed, moved the sensor down (i put a quarter on the bed and set the sensor on top of the quarter, then tightened it into place).
I would have thought this would have been a close place to start Then i set out to re-calibrate the offset.
Using an aluminum reference block (39.95 mm)
reset the offset in the firmware to 0 (to make life easier)
I sent a G30 P0, the hot end moved to x100, y100, z19.843
i heated the bed and hot end and sent an M114 (that gave me 20)
moved the hot end so the block just slide under the hot end and sent an M114 (gave me 39.84)

using the formula (ZHNew = Zhold-Z0-znew+zold_ref) or (0-19.843-39.84_20_39.95) the offset should have been .267...

When I set this in the firmware and tried to start a print, the first layer was so tight, nothing came out of the hot end.
Just for testing, i changed the offset value several times. 
After several attempts, i ended up using a negative number (had to try something different).. 

Using -0.3 i was finally able to get the first layer to print.

Can anyone tell me where i went wrong with my calculations? I thought that the measurements for the offset should be positive if using a probe instead of a force feedback switch? 
Am i backwards here?

Comments

• Negative z probe height sounds wrong. Only sensors really having negative offset are force feedback or nozzle sensors. Switches and inductive switches have positive values or you would hit bed first with nozzle and then sensor triggers which is not possible.