5 Axis firmware

Hi,

I am new to firmware development and I am trying to understand the process of developing a 5 axis 3D printer firmware ( Z axis always vertical. very few companies are doing it on the professional level but nothing exists in the open source community( that I can find). 

- for example is it as simple as taking a 3D firmware and adding two extra axis.
- Do I have to change configuration from cartesian to spherical coordinate system.

To add to the complexity, I am trying to learn what is involved in developing a true 5 axis 3D printing slicer and gcode post generator. 

- How would a slicer know What is every axis doing and all the input and output devices associated with the printer to post the right Gcode? 

I am not looking for instruction on how to do it step by step but rather trying to outline the skill set needed for each task, programming language used, protocols and standards for axis assignment G codes and M codes conventions, Keywords that are part of the development process.

Comments

• Adding 2 axis to firmware is not that difficult. We already have 4 axis and just increase the logic to 2 more axis. Would  need more cpu time of course.

Problems arise if firmware needs to do some transformation which might be the case as you mention spherical coordinates. Not sure what you really want. If slicers need to output code for 5 axis I also don't know what you want to achieve. I mean programming/developing a few years to do something we can do with 3 axis can not be your aim. But I guess the answer to your question lies in us being able to understand what you want to do exactly.
  • Hi Repetier... I'm not sure what happened to the OP but I am interested in the same thing. Some of the more interesting developments in cnc seem to be around the 5 axis machine and making it affordable. The benefits can easily be seen in this link: