No webcam stream, only static image

2»

Comments

• My experience seems related.  We have a RPi3 Repetier-Server Pro 0.86.2 with a single printer (Repetier), a single webcam, and an hdmi display.  Prior to webcam, never a need to power down.  Multiple long >1 day prints with no problem.  Using the webcam, everything still works for a number of prints.  But then the video fails first on port 3344.  Everything else still working.  The snapshots are still working on port 3344.  But then after a while, within a day, maybe after closing a browser and re-opening, then the snapshots fail, and when that is attempted and it fails, then port 3344 soon locks out everywhere.  Long print still running though and it finishes out with no problem.  Port 8080 is flawless the entire time, showing both videos and snapshots.  Reboot the RPi3, everything returns.  I'm a Linux noob that just wants to print... seems to me that viewing webcam from the server via port 3344 has a bug.  Even if it works, for us it is a time bomb.  Only damage done is that it locks up video first, then port 3344, but finishes the long print, and the video and snapshots on port 8080 are good the entire time.
  • I guess I have an idea where it comes from. When reading port 8080 fails it seems to go into an endless loop instead of finishing. I found this when I remove dthe webcam and reinserted it - port 8080 was then there again but no reconnect and no video in interface. Have fixed this for next update.

Snapshots are independent as these are requesting the static image url and just store the returned image.

The login problem might result be using up all file descriptors. Would also explain why snapshots do not work any more. Need to think how I can test/simulate this, but will have a look into it.
  • edited July 2018
    brucehvn said: