Tool Change Command works differently from 1.0 Dev in 04/2017

I have a Y-Block Switching extruder that I have been using without a problem since April 2017.  I should add that I've been using it because I had a lot of help from Repetier with the Select/Deselect commands in the firmware.  When a Tool Change (T) command is executed, the Select/Deselect commands in the firmware retract the filament from the current stepper and advance the filament in the other stepper so its filament is in the melt zone.  Also, it raises and lowers the Z axis slightly to prevent melting the current job while the filament is being changed.  When completed, it continues executing G-code.    

I used the config.h file from the 4-17 FW to generate V 1.0.1 FW.  I also made a few small changes, like re-enabling the SD card, adding baby-stepping and a few other small parameter changes, unrelated to the Select/Deselect strings.  

Now, when I execute a T command, the filaments move as expected, but when the extruder begins executing, the hotend is slightly below the surface of the part.  In the case where a small feature is being added (like a few letters of text), the extruder will carve into the surface, with the first layer, and eventually finish up with something that appears fairly decent.  In the old FW, the print continued where it should have. one layer above the previously printed layer.