Extruder polyfuse getting very hot and stopping print

Hi,
I've been using my 3d printer for about 6 months, with the extruder heating up perfectly fine. Suddenly, it has stopped heating in the middle of a print, i checked the 5amp polyfuse and it was extremely hot. When it cooled down again, it was fine. Now it has been triggering very fast, which means heating up much faster than it ever did. I don't know what to do next, because everywhere, people are having trouble with the 11 amp fuse. Im using a 12v 15a power supply.

1. Would it be wise to remove the fuse completely, and bridge the gap?
  2. If removing it is not a great option, then with what do i replace it? 5amp Polyfuses aren't available.
How can i fix this?

Comments

• -1 bridging is opposte of wise
    -2 check your heaters and motor drivers, usually fuse is not the problem

does heater voltage match the power supply voltage?

(usually 12 V heaters are around 6 OHms , 24V Heaters are around 12..13 Ohms)
  • Hi,
    yes my heater voltage is 12v which matches with my power supply. I read that the more the fuse is triggered, the more susceptible it becomes to being triggered again faster. Is it the fuse? Do i need to replace it with an automative fuse? If so, would a 5A one be fine?
    Or what should i check to see whats going wrong?
    thanks in advance:)
  • do you have the possibility to measure the input current ?

• The input from the power supply is 12 V 15A. Or did you mean the current drawn from the loads?
  • yes, you Need to measure the drawn current , otherwise you cannot see if the error is located at the Fuse or Heater

or any other component.

just straight forward toubleshooting

• edited August 2017
    I'm sorry, I'm a complete beginner, could you tell me how i measure that? I'm assuming with my multimeter. Do i need to measure the resistance first, and by using V=IR, calculate the amperage based on the amount of voltage im supplying?