Hotend fan turning on/off in time with Hotbed control

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this so upfront apologies if this a stupid question.

I've just assembled a Delta with Mega2560 and RAMPS 1.4.
I'm running Repetier firmware 0.91 and Repetier Host Mac 0.56.
Motherboard Type = 33 (which I figure is 1 extruder, 1 fan and a Hotbed)

All seems to be working well except
When I turn on the hotbed the relay activates and the hotbed begins to heat up. The Hotend fan also turns on but when the hotbed reaches temp and begins its on/off cycle to remain at temp the fan also starts turning on and off in synch with the hotbed.
All this is without turning on the hotend.
This seems wrong but I can't find a reason for it.

Am I missing something here?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Lance

Comments

• Yes, seems wrong if you wired it correctly. On RAMPS fan pin is D9 and hotbed is I think D8 (the one next to power). Turning on bed switches exactly one pin and can not switch more, so if it also switches the d9 pin, I guess there might be a connection between the 2 signal lines on ramps. You could test this with a simple sketch that only switches one of the 2 outputs and see if both get switched. Or measure resistance between the two lines while unpowered.
  • Thanks. I'll take a look.

Do you think it's possible there something wrong in the pins.h file?
    Is it worth reloading the firmware (my firmware came preloaded from the kit manufacturer).
    Or even going up to .92 version?

Cheers,
    Lance