Thermistor Definition

edited March 2015 in Extruder & Bed
I'm pretty new to 3D printing and after about a month and a half my hot end broke. I ended up buying a new E3D after some research but I'm having trouble with the firmware. I have cautiously printed a few small things to test it without updating yet because i can't figure it out. On the E3D website it tells me to 

Use thermistor definition number 8:

The problem is I'm not sure where to go to change this. I asked a couple of my friends that also use Repetier and they too, were not entirely sure what to do to change this. It also says 

For safety it is strongly recommended to do the following:

• Limit the Max PWM value (EXT0_PID_MAX xxx in the config file) to ensure that current is limited to a safe value.
  • Set the Minimum defect temperature to ensure that the thermistor shorting out is caught by the firmware.

I figured while I'm asking about the tables i will bring up a related question as well. Where do i change these settings also. These are probably dumb and easy questions but I didn't want to start changing settings in the configuration table unless i knew exactly what they did. Thanks. 

Comments

• These are all values defined in Configuration.h - the file configurating your printer which you hopefully already have.

In the online config tool sensor type 8 is ATC Semitec 104GT-2 in case you have already a config for that tool.
  • I guess i know even less about 3D printing than I had thought.  I am more of a mechanic hands on student with little experience with computers and software.

Where/how can I access the configuration.h file. I went to the config button on the top of Repetier and I have searched everywhere else in Repetier for it. I just need to know how to access and change the Configuration.h. Is it even something I can do from my computer or do I need to hook things up to my printer?