Print stopped half way through when printing from Windows 10

I'm a 3D print newbie, and hving just build an Anet A8 and printed a couple of things from the SD card I thought I'd try out Repetier Host/Server.
I was initially very impressed with the software, brilliant!
That was until I left a print to continue and returned a while later to find that the print had just stopped in the middle.
I'm guessing that the connection was lost but I can't find anything in the Windows 10 Event Viewer except some Edge crashes (quality Microsoft software eh?).
I saved the gcode to the SD card and it printed fine.
Is there anything I can do to troubleshoot what happened - are there any Repetier log files I could look at?
Is it possible to configure Repetier to download the whole of the gcode to the printer so that it isn't dependent on the connection to the computer?
As you can understand I'm nervous about printing via the Repetier route again in case it fails again wasting time and material, but its so good I'd like to use it as long as I can make it reliable.
Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Server is meant to print over usb only. Only that way you can benefit from all the cool features. Of course you can store with host to sd card and start sd print but then all you can do is watch temperatures.

Printing from server is normally very stable and only real problem with W10 is that you can not prevent windows from updating and rebooting.

So first you should find what the problem is and then hopefully fix the source of it. In server in web frontend you have a printer menu with log entry. There you can enable logging and later download the log file and check it for errors. There is also a general server log under c:/ProgramData/Repetier-Server/logs whcih also show special things happening. Both together might give the required hint.