Z Axis not moving during print

Hey,

I'm new to 3D printing and I've recently finished building my printer (Cherry 3D printer) and have been trying to fix it's problems, this one I could not figure out, so maybe you guys can help me out! :D

The problem is the Z axis does not move up after the printing starts. It DOES however move during homing and in manual control. This results in the everything getting printed on first layer...

I am using firmware 0.92 btw. And the driver currents are adjusted correctly. (0.12 mA, they are small steppers!)
The endstops are working correctly, they show low when endstops are not triggered and high when they are.

Z-axis Max Feedrate:       0.3 mm/s
Z-axis acceleration           5 mm/s^2
Z-axis travel acceleration  5 mm/s^2

Also, if and whenever I press "Emergency Stop" button to stop everything and then try to move the Z axis, it won't move. I'll have to wait a few seconds for the non-existent Z movement (as if it's actually moving when it's not) to be finished and then the next Z movement commands work.

Comments

• Normally I'd say acceleration/speed to high but your values are already low. I assume in eeprom you see the same values?

You should try disabling ALWAYS_CHECK_ENDSTOPS just to be sure it is no endstop issue. But in that case you would not have to wait for z move to finish as described.

What happens when you do 0.1mm steps in host manually. Just to simulate the layer switch moves.

Also could be the power unit to small? Does z still work with extruder on and bed on? Does it vibrate when it should move but does not, or give a high pitched sound. Both indicates loosing steps from lack of force.
  • edited April 2016
    Normally I'd say acceleration/speed to high but your values are already low. I assume in eeprom you see the same values?

You should try disabling ALWAYS_CHECK_ENDSTOPS just to be sure it is no endstop issue. But in that case you would not have to wait for z move to finish as described.