Heater Decoupled - Continue?

Hello,

I am new to 3D printing, and therefore to the software and firmware involved. I built a RepRap kit last month, and have been working out bugs since then. Having a background in both computers and electronics, I do have a firm grasp on what is going on here.

I am continually getting heater decoupled messages, and it is due to the extruder temperature becoming not recognized. I have rewired my thermistor several times, and have replaced the thermistor twice (simply because the motion of rewiring caused leads to break off).

This is the printer I have (http://www.reprapmall.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=24&product_id=132) and this is a picture of the hot end, so that you can get an idea(http://www.reprapmall.com/image/cache/catalog/3d%20printer%20kit/HE3D-XI3/he3d-xi33600-800x1096.jpg). Oddly, in this image, I do not see the wires for the thermistor, but trust me, they are there in my printer. They are on the back side of the heater block, as viewed in this image from the front. There is a small hole drilled into the block, and another threaded hole right next to it, for a screw. The screw has a washer, and the wires go under the washer to be held in place as the screw is tightened. The thermistor is this one (https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GD471PO/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1). I have PTFE tubing over the wires of the thermistor as an insulator, and the leads are soldered to the wire and shrink-tubed for insulation there.