Useing a sd card

Hi. I have a sd card module on my board. I have not been able to find a guide to activate it or use it in repetier;
When I put the card, I mount it, but I cant see any file on the card. The first thing I see after inserting the card is a message saying that the file name is too long...
So can somebody point me how to set up sd card support in the firmware, sd card pre requisites (size? brand? type of sd card? I have a 2gb kingston card for example, and a 4 gb card, both of them new, but not recogniced)

Thanks in advance)

Comments

• You haven't said which firmware. In any case 8.3 chars per filename like in good old dos times only ascii chars should work.

In the host in printer settings enable sd card to get access to it from the host.
  • Mmmmm Im new in the 3d printing world... the firmware is the repetier firmware one of the latest I guess. In the printer configuration I already have checked the "printer has sd card" box. The error of the filename appears but actually there is only 1 file in the card named test.gco, there shlould be no problems with that name. Anyway, the file is not even shown , I mean the file is not being displayed. The sd card must be of a particular brand, kind, size, format?
    Should I configure something in the firmware like Pins , etcs?
    Thanks in advance

• To see firmware version send M115 to the printer and check the log.

If you get a message that filename is too long you are reading the sd card so settings seem ok. I had sd cards up to 32gb with no problems in use. Latest release allows files with 26 chars in total. You see problems when sd init failed appears when you mount a sd card. Then sd is not working correct at all.

You might try formatting the sd card with a sd formatter. It can only read VFAT filesystems, not NTFS etc.
  • Te firmware is 0.91
    I formated the sd card, 2 GB, vfat system.